Question for the coders among us

Skip to the bottom

• @scottlake Mar 2022

I don’t code much. Languages I have learned over the years: Apple Basic, Turbo Pascal, Fortran 77, HP Basic, Matlab, VBA.

I’m an engineer looking for a change in jobs. Presently the lead test engineer for the F-15 Next Generation Ejection Seat. Sounds exciting but it’s 99.9% document editing and 1% testing.

I see lots of engineering jobs where I live where one of the roles is to write Python scripts for automation of test equipment functions.

I want to teach myself Python with a project and goal.

My goal: make a new Jukebox for FAWM.

I think one of the reasons many FAWMers don’t get many listens or comments is down to a lack of a streaming jukebox that can handle all of the different types of hosts of music, or lyrics only posts that have always gotten chump change.

Question is this: does Python allow use of API libraries that might include file players or reading aloud of text? I learned how to use APIs when I learned VBA about 15 years ago.

Question: is it insane to think that I could do this in a year while learning a new language?

Question: is there anyone else that would like to collab on this goal?

• @scottlake Mar 2022

*0.1%

• @sherrylynnlee Mar 2022

I don't know the specific APIs off the top of my head but python is a pretty mature programming language and I'm sure there are modules to facilitate this. The main issue you might have is accessing the APIs for the hosting platforms. Some platforms may not have an open API, so integration might not be trivial in those cases.

• @tcelliott  Mar 2022

@bunnyhero had that jukebox for a long while. I think you can find his FB account through the links on FAWM (or following links from those links, I forget.) That might be one possible resource.

Obviously, I'm hoping that a jukebox will be part of the massive FAWM rewrite, but I'm not sure that matters much in your attempt to get something both sooner and to learn the language.