Don't lose it, re-use it!

Skip to the bottom

• @paulh1237  Jan 2022

I've been doing fawm for 10+ years now (crazy!). And in that time I'm sure I have on occasion stolen ideas/lyrics/riffs from my own previous attempts.

I think this kinda makes sense; I like to think my ability to take those ideas and turn them into songs I don't hate is better than it was when I was 18 and clueless, so why waste the nice idea on rubbish 18 year old me?

Do other people ever scour there back catalogues for inspiration? Or maybe I'm dooming myself to write the exact same song for the rest of time..

• @kable Jan 2022

@paulh1237 Better yet: take your own tracks and redo them from the ground up! One of the oldest fears I had making music was having 'one shot' to get this idea right, and what if today's skills aren't enough to do the idea justice.

But that's just not true! Today's you is brand new, so instead of cringing at your old music (like I have), do it again, and better!

• @vomvorton  Jan 2022

I've been thinking about this. I've got a couple of old songs with good riffs but bad lyrics, it seems a shame that they never amounted to much. Definitely considering a little self-cannibalisation, depending on other inspiration...

• @sunnymae  Jan 2022

Oh I scour constantly! I have a whole file of "song snippets" I listen when I'm driving. Most of the time I'm like...what????? I don't remember most of them and they thrill me no end, so I totally concur. Those seedlings are not to be ignored. Many are hidden gems. On the other hand some will go with me to the afterlife. :0))))

• @scubed  Jan 2022

I have quite a few bad songs with one or two really good lines. This coming week I plan to go through the old lyric sheets & collect the lines I like into a single document. I plan to scan through them occasionally during FAWM to see if any of them can find a new home in a better song.

• @bradbrubaker  Jan 2022