Banjo pickers ...

Skip to the bottom

• @chipwithrow  Jan 2022

... or strummers, frailers, clawhammerers?
    I got my banjo before my first 50/90 in 2009, and I've gone through multiple phases of trying to become a serious bluegrass picker. Now I pick it up a few weeks each year and just play it however I want - still mostly picking.
    I'm starting out this FAWM with banjo intent, but I'm sure I'll get to my other instruments, too. (Guitar is my main one, and then I go through ukulele, mandolin, and piano phases.)
    Years ago when I was a music journalist, I interviewed two of my banjo heroes (and incredibly nice guys), Tony Trischka and Bela Fleck. And's Bela's awesome bass accomplice, Victor Wooten. But I didn't play banjo yet.
    I know there are other FAWMer banjo-ists out there!

• @mandolinda  Jan 2022

A former boyfriend(while in college) encouraged me to play his banjo, and then encouraged me to buy my own. We played and learned claw hammer together. But then he dumped me for ??? Reason, and I have had a love hate relationship with my banjo for the last 50 years. I play it a bit, but not well.

• @tseaver  Jan 2022

I will be frailing away on mine fershure this year.

• @whispermouse  Jan 2022

I play clawhammer and a liiiiiitle bit of 3-finger. Banjo will probably make an appearance on at least one of my songs this year!

• @tuneslayer  Jan 2022

Clawhammer represent. In the best of times Scruggs style seems to take more fingers than I can get working together, and I was messing with two finger picking when i got sidelined with a malady I can't pronounce that keeps me from being able to work a fretboard. So while I try to figure out if my hand can be fixed, I'll be using my computer to make music -- but you can bet I'll be dropping a banjo into my songs at least once in a while.

• @dragondreams  Jan 2022

I've kind of been challenged to do something on banjo by @johnstaples.
    Mine's a banjitar though. Can I still mingle with you cool kids?